Top Ad unit 728 × 90

Radiology News


Coronary CT Angiography- Anatomical Considerations

The left coronary artery (LCA) is also known as the left main. The LCA arises from the left coronary cusp. The aortic valve has three leaflets known as the left coronary cusp (L), the right coronary cusp (R) and the posterior non-coronary cusp (N). The LCA divides almost immediately into the circumflex artery (Cx) and left anterior descending artery (LAD). The right coronary artery arises from the anterior sinus of Valsalva and courses through the right atrioventricular (AV) groove between the right artium and right ventricle to the inferior part of the septum. In 65% of cases the posterior descending artery (PDA) is a branch of the RCA (right dominant circulation).  The PDA supplies the inferior wall of the left ventricle and inferior part of the septum. 

Left Main or left coronary artery 
-Left anterior descending (LAD)
diagonal branches (D1, D2)
septal branches

-Circumflex (Cx)
Marginal branches (M1,M2)

Right coronary artery 
Acute marginal branch (AM)
AV node branch
Posterior descending artery (PDA)
Coronary CT Angiography- Anatomical Considerations Reviewed by Sumer Sethi on Tuesday, August 30, 2011 Rating: 5

No comments:

All Rights Reserved by Sumer's Radiology Blog © 2014 - 2015
Powered By Blogger,

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

All contents copyrights with Sumer Sethi. Powered by Blogger.